Federal Holidays
Skip navigation

Federal Holidays:

In the United States, there are 10 federal holidays set by law. See U.S. Code Title 5 Section 6103. Holidays.

Under current definitions, four are set by date:

New Year's DayJanuary 1
Independence DayJuly 4
Veterans DayNovember 11
Christmas DayDecember 25

If any of the above fall on a Saturday, then Friday may be observed as a holiday by various institutions. Similarly, if one falls on a Sunday, then Monday may be observed as a holiday.

The other six are set by a day of the week and month:

Martin Luther King's BirthdayThird Monday in January
Washington's BirthdayThird Monday in February
Memorial DayLast Monday in May
Labor DayFirst Monday in September
Columbus DaySecond Monday in October
ThanksgivingFourth Thursday in November

Federal Holiday Table:

The table below displays day of the week for the first set of holidays, and a date for the second set. Also shown is General Election Day, which is the Tuesday after the first Monday in November.

New Year's Day Independence Day Veterans Day Christmas Day Martin Luther King Jr.'s Birthday Washington's Birthday Memorial Day Labor Day Columbus Day Thanksgiving Day Election Day
Jan 1Jul 4Nov 11Dec 25 JanFebMaySept OctNovNov
2011SatMon FriSun172130 510248
2012SunWed SunTu162028 38226
2013TuTh MonWed211827 214285
2014WedFri TuTh201726 113274
2015ThSat WedFri191625 712263
2016FriMon FriSun181530 510248
2017SunTu SatMon162029 49237
2018MonWed SunTu151928 38226
2019TuTh MonWed211827 214285
2020WedSat WedFri201725 712263
2021FriSun ThSat181531 611252
2022SatMon FriSun172130 510248
2023SunTu SatMon162029 419237
2024MonTh MonWed151927 214285
2025WedFri TuTh201726 113274

Other Patriotic and National Observances:

For further information on other patriotic and national observances, see U.S. Code Title 36, Chapter 1: Patriotic and National Observances.

External Links Disclaimer.